Best homelab router: MikroTik RB5009UG+S+IN, $219 list, over the line. Under $200 on September 24, 2026: UniFi Cloud Gateway Ultra ($129, or $139 with Ubiquiti’s surcharge) for gigabit IPS, MikroTik hAP ax3 ($139 list) for 2.6 Gbps in MikroTik’s aggregate 25-firewall-rule test, and GL.iNet Flint 2 ($169.99) for OpenWrt.

By LK Wood IV · Published 2026-04-06 · Updated 2026-09-28 · ~13 min read · St. Louis County, MO
TL;DR · The picks, priced September 24, 2026
- Best homelab router: MikroTik RB5009UG+S+IN, $219 MikroTik list, over the $200 line (Newegg had marketplace sellers only, from $294.99 plus $5.99 shipping). 7× 1GbE + 2.5GbE + 10G SFP+ on RouterOS; 9,365.6 Mbps with 25 firewall rules in MikroTik's test.
- Under $200, UniFi: Cloud Gateway Ultra, $129 at Ubiquiti's US store ($139 with the store's surcharge) or $132.00 plus $13.99 shipping sold by Newegg. Gigabit IDS/IPS, one 2.5 GbE WAN port. The multi-gig Cloud Gateway Max is $199 without storage ($214 with the surcharge).
- Under $200, RouterOS with Wi-Fi: MikroTik hAP ax3, $139 list. 2,614.4 Mbps with 25 firewall rules in MikroTik's test.
- OpenWrt-based / VPN router: GL.iNet Flint 2, $169.99 (Newegg adds $1.99 shipping). WireGuard rated up to 900 Mbps by GL.iNet; the Wi-Fi 7 Flint 3e is $179.99.
- 4-port 10GbE switch: MikroTik CRS305 ($149 list, SFP+) or CRS304-4XG-IN ($199 list, RJ45). Both passively cooled.
- Wi-Fi 7 AP: Ubiquiti U7 Lite, $99 at Ubiquiti ($106 with the surcharge), with a 2.5 GbE uplink; needs a UniFi controller.
Prices read September 24, 2026: Newegg's buy box where Newegg sells the item, otherwise MikroTik's suggested price and the Ubiquiti and GL.iNet US stores. Ubiquiti adds a surcharge at checkout, printed beside its prices. Pair with the 10GbE homelab networking guide and the homelab firewall / router stack comparison for the full edge story.
"Enterprise-grade" at this budget means the feature set rather than used rack gear: VLANs, IDS/IPS, 10-gigabit uplinks and multi-gig routing in a new desktop box. The routers below draw 6.2 to 38 W at their vendors' stated maximums, and the MikroTik ones are passively cooled.
This guide goes routers first, then switches, then access points. Each router has its vendor's own throughput figure with a firewall, IPS or VPN turned on, in the table below. If your answer to "best homelab router" is a homemade one, a small PC running OPNsense, the OPNsense mini PC setup guide covers the hardware and install, and the firewall / router stack comparison weighs that path against UniFi. This page is about turnkey appliances.
Routers: Start Here
On the $200 line. On September 24, 2026, MikroTik's suggested price for the RB5009UG+S+IN was $219, and Newegg listed it only through marketplace sellers, from $294.99 plus $5.99 shipping. It stays the first recommendation because none of the under-$200 router picks here has its 10G SFP+ cage or its firewalled routing figure. Ubiquiti's US store adds a surcharge at checkout: the Cloud Gateway Max without storage lists at $199 and costs $214 with it. If your cap is hard, the UCG Ultra ($129, $139 with the surcharge) is the UniFi pick, the hAP ax3 ($139) the RouterOS pick and the GL.iNet Flint 2 ($169.99) the OpenWrt-based pick.
Speed with the features on
Each figure is the vendor's own, with the condition as the vendor states it. "Holds" compares the first figure in the row with the line speed; for the MikroTik rows that is the 1518-byte figure, with the 512-byte result in brackets. MikroTik's figures are all-port aggregates, measured to RFC 2544 on Xena test gear with 0.1% packet-loss tolerance; each hAP ax3 LAN port is limited to 1 Gbps. For the GL.iNet rows the first figure is WireGuard.
| Router, price Sep 24, 2026 | Vendor figure, feature on | Condition as the vendor states it | Holds 1 / 2 / 2.5 Gbps | Max power, cooling | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MikroTik RB5009UG+S+IN, $219 list | 9,365.6 Mbps (3,096.2 at 512 B); IPsec 1,354.1 Mbps | 25 IP filter rules, 1518-byte packets; IPsec: one AES-128-CBC + SHA1 tunnel, 1400-byte | Yes / yes / yes (512 B: yes / yes / yes) | 25 W (14 W without attachments), passive | MikroTik, Sep 24, 2026 |
| MikroTik hAP ax3, $139 list | 2,614.4 Mbps (1,145.2 at 512 B); IPsec 878.1 Mbps | Same MikroTik test as the RB5009 row | Yes / yes / yes (512 B: yes / no / no) | 38 W (15 W without attachments), passive | MikroTik, Sep 24, 2026 |
| UniFi Cloud Gateway Ultra, $129 ($139 with surcharge) | IDS/IPS 1 Gbps | “IDS/IPS Throughput”; no test method stated | Yes / no / no | 6.2 W; cooling not stated | Ubiquiti, Sep 24, 2026 |
| UniFi Cloud Gateway Max, $199 without storage ($214 with surcharge) | IDS/IPS 2.3 Gbps | “IDS/IPS Throughput”; no test method stated | Yes / yes / no | 16.1 W; cooling not stated | Ubiquiti, Sep 24, 2026 |
| GL.iNet Flint 2 (GL-MT6000), $169.99 | WireGuard 900 Mbps; OpenVPN with DCO 880 Mbps | VPN client mode on a local network | No / no / no (VPN) | Under 20 W; cooling not stated | GL.iNet, Sep 24, 2026 |
| GL.iNet Flint 3e (GL-BE6500), $179.99 | WireGuard 1,100 Mbps; OpenVPN with DCO 680 Mbps | VPN client mode on a local network | Yes / no / no (VPN) | Under 25 W (37.2 W with USB load); cooling not stated | GL.iNet, Sep 24, 2026 |
Each vendor tests something different (MikroTik firewall rules on a packet generator, Ubiquiti an IPS rating with no published method, GL.iNet VPN client speed on a local network), so read each row on its own; the table does not rank one router against another. Lab figures at fixed packet sizes are best cases; a real internet traffic mix runs lower. For every UniFi gateway's IPS rating, the firewall / router stack comparison carries Ubiquiti's full table.
MikroTik RB5009UG+S+IN — The One to Grow Into
Price: $219 MikroTik suggested price (September 24, 2026) | Ports: 7× 1GbE + 1× 2.5GbE + 1× 10G SFP+ | CPU: Quad-core ARM 1.4 GHz, 1GB RAM | Power: 25 W max (14 W without attachments), passive cooling
MikroTik markets this as "the ultimate heavy-duty home lab router," and the port layout backs it up: seven gigabit ports for your everyday devices, a 2.5GbE port for a fast WAN or a NAS trunk, and a 10G SFP+ cage for a fiber uplink to a 10-gigabit switch. Of the routers on this page it has the most wired ports (nine) and the only SFP+ cage: a distribution layer in one fanless box.
It suits someone who wants to learn networking rather than click through a wizard. RouterOS 7 exposes firewall chains, bridge VLAN filtering, BGP/OSPF, containers, and scripting. In MikroTik's own test it routes 9,365.6 Mbps with 25 firewall rules at 1518-byte packets and 3,096.2 Mbps at 512-byte packets, both above 2.5 Gbps in that aggregate test; these results do not guarantee the same speed with a different traffic mix or ruleset.
The tradeoff is the same one every MikroTik carries: RouterOS has a steep learning curve, and there is no built-in Wi-Fi. Budget an evening with the documentation and plan to add an access point. If you want a router you can rack (four fit in 1U with the K-79 kit), script, and never outgrow, this is the pick.
Best for: Homelabbers who want the most ports and the most room to grow, and don't mind a CLI. The default recommendation.
UniFi Cloud Gateway Max — $199 Without Storage, Zero CLI
Price: $199 without storage or $279 with a 512 GB SSD at Ubiquiti's US store on September 24, 2026 ($214 and $301 with the store's surcharge) | Throughput: 2.3 Gbps IDS/IPS, Ubiquiti's rating | Ports: 5× 2.5GbE, one the default WAN | Power: 16.1 W max
If the RB5009 is the enthusiast's router, the UCG Max is the one you buy when you want it to just work, and when a family member might one day have to touch it. Its 2.5 GbE WAN port and 2.3 Gbps IPS rating cover a 2 Gbps plan with threat detection on. Everything runs through the UniFi controller built into the box: VLANs, firewall rules, threat detection, and camera recording if you buy the SSD version or add an NVMe drive.
Four 2.5GbE LAN ports cover a NAS, a hypervisor and an access point without a separate switch; past that, trunk one to a switch like the Flex 2.5G PoE below. The UCG Fiber ($279 at Ubiquiti, $301 with the surcharge) rates 5 Gbps IDS/IPS and has two 10G SFP+ ports, for a fiber line above 2.5 Gbps. Only have a gigabit connection? The UCG Ultra ($129, $139 with the surcharge; $132.00 plus $13.99 shipping sold by Newegg) does the job at 1 Gbps IDS/IPS with one 2.5 GbE WAN port and four 1 GbE LAN ports, at 6.2 W maximum. It is the under-$200 UniFi pick.
Best for: Anyone who values a clean dashboard over configurability, or shares the network with non-technical people.
GL.iNet Flint 2 (GL-MT6000) — The OpenWrt Workhorse
Price: $169.99 at GL.iNet's store and sold by Newegg (Newegg adds $1.99 shipping), September 24, 2026 | Ports: 2× 2.5G + 4× 1G | Power: Under 20W | VPN: WireGuard up to 900 Mbps (GL.iNet)
The Flint 2 ships GL.iNet's OpenWrt-based firmware, and that's the whole pitch. If you want a router you can SSH into, install packages on, write custom firewall rules for, and treat like a Linux box that happens to route packets, this is the best option at the price. GL.iNet rates WireGuard at up to 900 Mbps and OpenVPN with DCO at up to 880 Mbps, in client mode on a local network. Two 2.5GbE ports plus four gigabit ports cover most topologies without a separate switch, and GL.iNet rates it under 20 W. Its firmware also ships AdGuard Home; to run DNS filtering on a Proxmox host instead, see the AdGuard Home local DNS guide.
GL.iNet's Flint 3e (GL-BE6500), $179.99 at GL.iNet and sold by Newegg on September 24, 2026, swaps Wi-Fi 6 for Wi-Fi 7, gives you five 2.5GbE ports, and carries a 1,100 Mbps WireGuard rating. The Flint 2 has the longer record (459 reviews on GL.iNet's store against 20 for the Flint 3e that day); the Flint 3e is the pick if you want Wi-Fi 7 and more multi-gig ports. Either way, the built-in Wi-Fi is functional but not the reason to buy; pair it with a real AP.
OpenWrt One and Two. The OpenWrt project's own board, the OpenWrt One, has a MediaTek Filogic 820, 1 GB of RAM, one 2.5 Gbit WAN port and one 1 Gbit LAN port, per openwrt.org. With two Ethernet ports it suits an access point or a test router more than a homelab edge. OpenWrt Two has no page on openwrt.org as of September 24, 2026.
Best for: Homelabbers who want OpenWrt-level control and fast VPN throughput per dollar.
MikroTik hAP ax3 — 2.6 Gbps With Firewall Rules for $139
Price: $139 MikroTik suggested price (September 24, 2026) | Ports: 1× 2.5G + 4× 1G | Wi-Fi: AX1800 (Wi-Fi 6) | Routing: 2,614.4 Mbps with 25 firewall rules | Power: 38 W max (15 W without attachments), passive cooling
MikroTik's own test table puts the hAP ax3 at 2,657.8 Mbps with fast-path routing and no rules, and 2,614.4 Mbps with 25 IP firewall rules, both at 1518-byte packets. At 512-byte packets the firewalled figure is 1,145.2 Mbps, so only the large-packet aggregate exceeds 2.5 Gbps; no single gigabit LAN port can deliver that speed. The table's "yes" for a 2.5 Gbps line rests on 4.6% headroom (2,614.4 against 2,500 Mbps) in that all-port, large-packet test. The 2.5G port is your WAN; four gigabit ports handle downstream. Unlike the RB5009, it includes Wi-Fi 6, acceptable for light use.
Same RouterOS tradeoff as its bigger sibling: it is powerful and scriptable, with a learning curve. If you already know MikroTik, or want to, the hAP ax3 gives you firewalled multi-gig routing and built-in wireless for $139.
Best for: MikroTik-curious builders who want routing throughput and a bit of Wi-Fi in one cheap box.
I may earn a commission if you buy through these affiliate links.
Buy links for the picks above: UniFi Cloud Gateway Ultra at Newegg / the same model at Amazon · GL.iNet Flint 2 at Newegg / the same model at Amazon · GL.iNet Flint 3e at Newegg / the same model at Amazon. MikroTik's routers were listed at Newegg only by marketplace sellers above MikroTik's suggested price on September 24, 2026.
Switches: Multi-Gig on a Budget
MikroTik CRS304-4XG-IN — 10GbE for $199
Price: $199 MikroTik suggested price (September 24, 2026) | Ports: 4× 10G RJ45 + 1× 1G management | Power: 21 W max (15 W without attachments) | Cooling: Passive (fanless)
Four 10GbE copper ports in a passively cooled box for $199. The CRS304 connects up to four homelab mini PCs at 10 gigabit over copper without buying enterprise switches off eBay and praying the fans don't wake your neighbors.
The tradeoffs are real but manageable. Four ports means this is a spine switch or a cluster interconnect, not your entire network. The 1G management port is useful but you'll want a separate switch for your 1G/2.5G devices. And RouterOS has a learning curve — powerful, but not UniFi-pretty. If you've never touched MikroTik, expect to spend an evening with the docs (the same evening the RB5009 asks for — buy both and learn once).
Passive cooling means zero noise, and at 21 W maximum it runs from a small UPS without thinking about it. Check your mini PCs' ports first. Minisforum lists a 10GbE RJ45 port on every MS-02 Ultra, which plugs straight in; its two 25GbE SFP+ ports come only on the 285HX model. The MS-01 and MS-A2 have two 10G SFP+ ports each (plus two 2.5GbE RJ45), so they need compatible SFP+-to-10GBASE-T modules and Ethernet cables to reach this switch, or grab the SFP+ CRS305 ($149 list) instead and run DACs.
Best for: Dedicated 10GbE backbone between homelab nodes. Not for whole-network switching.
Ubiquiti Flex 2.5G PoE — The Everything Switch
Price: $199 at Ubiquiti's US store, $214 with its surcharge (September 24, 2026) | Ports: 8× 2.5GbE PoE++ + a 10 GbE RJ45/SFP+ combination uplink port | PoE budget: 16 W to 196 W, set by the power source | Management: UniFi controller
Eight 2.5GbE ports with PoE++ and what Ubiquiti's store calls a "10 GbE RJ45/SFP+ combination uplink port," for $199 list, $214 at checkout. This is the switch that makes a full 2.5GbE home network possible at a reasonable price. Plug in your access points (PoE powered), your NAS, your workstation, and your homelab node, all at 2.5 gigabit, with a single 10G uplink to your core switch or router.
The PoE budget depends on how you power it. Ubiquiti lists 46 W to pass on from a PoE++ input, 76 W from PoE+++, and 196 W with its $79 210 W AC adapter, which is sold separately. A PoE+ input provides just 16 W. On a PoE++ input that covers three U7 Lites at their 13 W maximum; size the input for the devices' combined draw. Plan your PoE load before buying — the PoE power budget calculator sums your APs, cameras, and cable loss so you size the power source with enough headroom. The switch ships without a power supply: it runs from a PoE source on its 10GbE port or from that $79 adapter.
UniFi management is the draw for people who want a slick dashboard. If you're already in the UniFi ecosystem — running a Cloud Gateway, managing VLANs through the controller — the Flex 2.5G integrates perfectly. If you're not in the ecosystem and don't plan to be, the MikroTik gives you more raw speed per dollar.
Best for: Full 2.5GbE home network with PoE for APs. The general-purpose switch pick.
Access Points: Wi-Fi 7 Under $200
UniFi U7 Lite — $99 Wi-Fi 7 That Actually Delivers
Price: $99 at Ubiquiti's US store, $106 with its surcharge; $106.00 plus $7.99 shipping sold by Newegg (September 24, 2026) | Standard: Wi-Fi 7, 4 spatial streams | Uplink: 2.5GbE | Max data rate: 4.3 Gbps at 5 GHz (240 MHz) | Coverage: 115 m² (1,250 sq ft), Ubiquiti's rating
A Wi-Fi 7 access point with a 2.5GbE uplink for $99. Ubiquiti rates its 5 GHz radio at 4.3 Gbps on a 240 MHz channel; that is a link rate rather than a throughput, and it is why the 2.5GbE uplink matters. Want the third band for more capacity in a busy house? The U7 Pro ($189 at Ubiquiti, $203 with the surcharge) adds 6 GHz and six spatial streams, and needs PoE+.
Ubiquiti rates coverage at 115 m² (1,250 sq ft). For a house, one U7 Lite handles the main living area and a second covers the rest.
The catch: it requires a UniFi controller (software or hardware). If you're running a Cloud Gateway, the controller is built in. If not, you'll run the UniFi Network Application in a Docker container or on a dedicated machine — free software, but a dependency.
It draws up to 13 W over standard PoE. Pair it with the Flex 2.5G PoE switch and you get power and data over one cable with a 2.5G backhaul. That's a clean deployment.
Best for: UniFi users who want the cheapest path to Wi-Fi 7 with a 2.5G backhaul. The obvious pick.
TP-Link Omada EAP773 — Tri-Band With a 10G Port
Price: $189.99 sold by Newegg on September 24, 2026 | Standard: Wi-Fi 7 tri-band | Uplink: 10GbE | Power: 25.4 W max on PoE, per TP-Link
The EAP773 is the high-end option: tri-band Wi-Fi 7 with a 10GbE uplink, so your wireless backhaul won't bottleneck on a 2.5G link when several clients saturate the radios at once. For a busy network with a lot of wireless devices, that 10G uplink matters.
The tradeoffs are meaningful. It draws up to 25.4 W on PoE, about twice the U7 Lite's 13 W, and it doesn't include a PoE injector, so you'll need a PoE+ switch or a separate injector. And it needs the Omada controller (hardware OC200/OC300 or the free software controller). If you're in the Omada ecosystem this is fine; if you're mixing vendors, it's another management plane.
Best for: High-density wireless or Omada-ecosystem users who need tri-band Wi-Fi 7 with a 10G wired backhaul.
| RB5009 | UCG Max | UCG Ultra | Flint 2 | hAP ax3 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $219 list | $199 no SSD ($214 at checkout) | $129 ($139 at checkout) | $169.99 | $139 list |
| Feature-on figure | 9.4G, 25 firewall rules | 2.3G IPS | 1G IPS | 900M WireGuard | 2.6G, 25 firewall rules |
| 2.5G ports | 1 | 5 | 1 (WAN) | 2 | 1 (WAN) |
| 10G uplink | SFP+ | No | No | No | No |
| Wi-Fi | None | None | None | Wi-Fi 6 | Wi-Fi 6 |
| VPN (WG) | Yes | Built-in | Built-in | 900 Mbps | Yes |
| Ecosystem | RouterOS | UniFi | UniFi | OpenWrt | RouterOS |
| MikroTik CRS304 | Ubiquiti Flex 2.5G PoE | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $199 list | $199 ($214 at checkout) |
| Ports | 4× 10G RJ45 | 8× 2.5G PoE++ |
| Uplink | 1× 1G mgmt | 10 GbE RJ45/SFP+ combination uplink |
| PoE | No | 16–196 W, by power source |
| Cooling | Passive (silent) | Not stated |
| Best for | 10G node backbone | Full 2.5G + PoE network |
| UniFi U7 Lite | Omada EAP773 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $99 ($106 at checkout) | $189.99 (Newegg) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 7, 4-stream | Wi-Fi 7, tri-band |
| Uplink | 2.5GbE | 10GbE |
| Bands | 2.4 + 5 GHz | 2.4 + 5 + 6 GHz |
| Power | PoE, 13 W max | PoE+, 25.4 W max, no injector included |
| Cooling | Not stated | Not stated |
Who Should Buy What
Totals use the list prices read September 24, 2026. Shipping and tax are excluded. Accessories cost extra unless listed. The stated checkout alternatives include Ubiquiti's surcharge; the CRS305 and OpenWrt stack totals below are before it.
The Grow-Into-It Stack ($517)
- RB5009 ($219) + CRS304 ($199) + U7 Lite ($99) = $517, or $524 with the U7 Lite's surcharge. The RB5009's SFP+ cage needs a 10GBASE-T module to reach the CRS304's RJ45 ports; the SFP+ CRS305 ($149) takes a DAC instead and brings the stack to $467.
- Best for: builders who want a real distribution layer they'll never outgrow and don't mind RouterOS
- Add mini PCs with SFP+ later and you've got a 10-gigabit core
The UniFi Full Stack ($576)
- UCG Max without storage ($199) + Flex 2.5G PoE ($199) + its 210 W adapter ($79) + U7 Lite ($99) = $576, or $613 with the surcharge on the three Ubiquiti devices (the adapter carries none). The Flex ships without a power supply and the UCG Max has no PoE output, so the adapter is part of the build.
- The UCG Ultra ($129) version is $506 ($538 with the surcharge), with a 1 Gbps IPS rating and 1 GbE LAN ports
- Best for: users who want a unified dashboard, 2.5GbE on every port, Wi-Fi 7, and PoE for APs
- The most polished experience with the least CLI time
The Budget OpenWrt Stack ($268.99)
- Flint 2 ($169.99) + no switch + U7 Lite ($99) = $268.99, plus a PoE injector for the AP; add the CRS304 for a 10G backbone at $467.99
- Best for: homelabbers who want OpenWrt control, strong VPN throughput, and the lowest entry cost
- The Flint 2's built-in ports handle most topologies without a switch
The Verdict
Around the $200 line, this guide's picks include a 10G-SFP+ router that racks four-to-1U, multi-gig gateways with IPS, Wi-Fi 7 access points with 2.5G uplinks, and OpenWrt-based boxes that GL.iNet rates at 900 Mbps and more over WireGuard. The compromises are real: port-count limits, PoE budgets, RouterOS learning curves, Ubiquiti's checkout surcharge.
If you're not sure, start with the router. The MikroTik RB5009 ($219 list) is the pick I'd hand most homelabbers who want room to grow, even though it breaks the $200 headline by nineteen dollars; the UCG Ultra ($129, $139 with the surcharge) is the under-$200 UniFi pick for gigabit service; the UCG Max without storage ($199, $214 with the surcharge) is the multi-gig UniFi option; and the Flint 2 ($169.99) is the value play if OpenWrt and VPN throughput are what you're after. Add a switch and an AP when the bottleneck actually appears.
Buy the gear that matches your current ISP speed and your homelab topology. Don't overbuild — a $199 10GbE switch does nothing if everything plugged into it runs at 1G. Upgrade the bottleneck first, then expand from there.
Key takeaways: best homelab router under $200
- Top pick: MikroTik RB5009UG+S+IN ($219 list on September 24, 2026, over the $200 line): 7× 1GbE + 2.5GbE + a 10G SFP+ cage on RouterOS 7, and 9,365.6 Mbps with 25 firewall rules in MikroTik’s test. The most ports and the most room to grow, if you’ll live with a CLI.
- Best multi-gig with polish: UniFi Cloud Gateway Max, $199 without storage at Ubiquiti’s US store ($214 with the surcharge): five 2.5GbE ports and a 2.3 Gbps IDS/IPS rating.
- Best gigabit / under-$200 UniFi entry: UCG Ultra ($129, $139 with the surcharge) handles a 1 Gbps connection with IDS/IPS, VLANs and firewall rules; its one 2.5 GbE port is the WAN.
- Best OpenWrt-based / VPN router: GL.iNet Flint 2 ($169.99) ships GL.iNet’s OpenWrt-based firmware, two 2.5GbE ports and a 900 Mbps WireGuard rating at under 20 W; the Flint 3e ($179.99) adds Wi-Fi 7 and five 2.5GbE ports.
- Most routing with firewall rules under $200: MikroTik hAP ax3 ($139 list) routes 2,614.4 Mbps with 25 firewall rules at 1518-byte packets (1,145.2 at 512 bytes) in MikroTik’s test, with Wi-Fi 6 built in. RouterOS learning curve applies.
If a new homelab host is part of the plan, the Proxmox hardware requirements guide covers what a hypervisor host needs, network cards included.
Sources and methodology
Prices were read September 24, 2026. Where Newegg sells an item, the price is Newegg’s buy box, with any shipping charge printed separately; otherwise it is MikroTik’s suggested price or the Ubiquiti or GL.iNet US store, where Ubiquiti’s checkout surcharge is printed beside its price. Every throughput and power figure comes from the vendor’s own page, as do the cooling type and port counts; the table under Routers: Start Here links each one.
Primary sources cited:
- MikroTik product pages: suggested prices, test tables, power and cooling for the RB5009UG+S+IN, hAP ax3, CRS304, CRS305, CRS309 and CSS610, read September 24, 2026
- Ubiquiti US store and Ubiquiti techspecs: Cloud Gateway Ultra / Max / Fiber, Flex 2.5G PoE and U7 Lite / U7 Pro prices, surcharges and specifications, read September 24, 2026
- GL.iNet: Flint 2 (GL-MT6000) and Flint 3e (GL-BE6500) prices and specifications, read September 24, 2026
- Newegg: buy-box prices for the UCG Ultra, Flint 2, Flint 3e, U7 Lite and EAP773, and the marketplace listings for the RB5009, read September 24, 2026
- OpenWrt One on openwrt.org: board specifications; the OpenWrt Two address had no page on September 24, 2026
Email corrections to contact@techfuelhq.com.
Frequently asked questions
What’s the best homelab router under $200 in 2026?
Best 10GbE switch under $200 in 2026?
Wi-Fi 7 access point under $200 for a homelab?
Do I need 2.5GbE in 2026?
What’s the cheapest way into managed switching for VLANs?
GL.iNet routers — are they real homelab kit?
Is there an OpenWrt Two?
What about a homemade router under $200?
Sources and corrections
- Last updated
- Methodology
- See our methodology for research and review standards.
- Update log
- 2026-09-28 — Page updated.
- Corrections
- Spotted an error or a stale number? Email contact@techfuelhq.com. Confirmed corrections are added to the update log above.