I tier fourteen current M.2 NVMe SSDs on what their makers publish: PCIe generation, NAND type, cache architecture and rated endurance. Tier S is Gen5 TLC with a DRAM cache, A is Gen4 TLC with DRAM, B is DRAM-less HMB, C is QLC or Gen3. Every row cites its vendor document.
By LK Wood IV · Published 2026-09-18 · ~12 min read · St. Louis County, MO
Search for an SSD tier list and most of what comes back has stopped moving. The Level1Techs thread still circulating opened on 3 September 2020 and drew its last reply five days after that. The stoRAGE list on GitHub opens with a header saying it is unmaintained and missing new drives. Zach’s Tech Turf carries no date of its own and sends readers to a Google Sheet whose very first row reads DEPRECATED, dated 3/24/2026. I opened eight of these lists while building this page. One of them, the current NewMaxx sheet, carries a 2026 revision stamp: “Last Updated: August 19, 2026”.
So here is mine. Fourteen current M.2 NVMe drives, rebuilt from vendor documents, tiered on the four hardware facts that decide how a drive behaves under a long write, with every row citing the document it came from and the capacity that figure belongs to.
Two rules run through it. Every specification traces to a source linked in its row, and that source is the maker’s own datasheet wherever one exists. Where a maker does not publish something, the cell says so and names the review that opened the drive instead. Blank beats guessed.
What this page ranks on
Not a score. ssd-tester.com sorts a large field on a composite “Score” its own page never explains, and Tom’s Hardware’s SSD benchmarks hierarchy still carries 2025 in its heading. Sequential benchmark sums flatter the wrong thing anyway. They reward peak queue depths a desktop almost never reaches.
This page ranks documented hardware class, from four facts the makers publish:
- PCIe generation — the interface ceiling.
- NAND type — TLC or QLC, three bits per cell or four.
- Cache architecture — an on-board DRAM chip, or Host Memory Buffer borrowed from system RAM.
- Rated endurance — TBW at a stated capacity, under JEDEC’s client workload.
Every specification figure below is for the 1TB capacity. Specifications move with capacity, and comparing a 4TB row against a 500GB row is how a tier list quietly becomes wrong. The daggered cells are the exception, because a teardown reports whatever sample the reviewer had in hand, so Sources records which capacity each one came from. Samsung’s own datasheet puts the 990 PRO at 600TB written for 1TB and 2,400TB for 4TB. Same drive name, four times the number.
How the tiers are decided
The letters are my editorial call. The criteria behind them are stated, so you can audit any placement:
- Tier S — PCIe 5.0, TLC NAND and a DRAM cache. The current ceiling.
- Tier A — PCIe 4.0, TLC NAND, DRAM cache. For almost every desktop and homelab build, this is the sensible tier and the one I would start from.
- Tier B — no DRAM cache. The mapping table lives in a slice of host memory over the PCIe bus instead of on a chip beside the controller, which Lexar and Samsung both name as Host Memory Buffer. Fast on paper, different under sustained write pressure.
- Tier C — QLC NAND at any generation, or a PCIe 3.0 drive. Fine for what they are. Not a new primary drive in 2026.
One flag sits outside the letters. Check the revision marks a drive whose maker changed the hardware under an unchanged model name. That is not a demerit. It means the name on the box will not tell you which of two drives you are holding, so the row links straight to the section that says what will.
The 2026 SSD tier list
| Tier | Drive (1TB) | Interface | NAND | Cache | Rated TBW | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S | Samsung 9100 PRO | PCIe 5.0 x4 | V-NAND TLC | 1GB LPDDR4X | 600 TB | Samsung |
| S | WD_BLACK SN8100 | PCIe Gen5 x4 | TLC 3D CBA | DRAM | 600 TB | SanDisk |
| S | Seagate FireCuda 540 | PCIe Gen5 x4 | 3D TLC | DRAM † | 1,000 TB | Seagate · TPU |
| A | Samsung 990 PRO | PCIe Gen 4.0 x4 | V-NAND TLC | 1GB LPDDR4 | 600 TB | Samsung |
| A | Kingston KC3000 | PCIe 4.0 x4 | 3D TLC | DRAM | 800 TB | Kingston |
| A | Solidigm P44 Pro | PCIe Gen 4 x4 | 176-layer 3D TLC † | 1GB LPDDR4 † | 750 TB | Solidigm · TPU |
| A | SK hynix Platinum P41 | PCIe 4.0, 4 lanes | 176L 3D TLC | DRAM † | 750 TB | SK hynix · TPU |
| A | WD_BLACK SN850X | PCIe Gen4 x4 | TLC 3D NAND | DDR4 † | 600 TB | SanDisk · Tom’s |
| B | Lexar NM790 | PCIe Gen4 x4 | not stated | HMB 3.0 | 1,000 TB | Lexar |
| B | Samsung 990 EVO Plus | PCIe 4.0 x4 / 5.0 x2 | V-NAND TLC | HMB | 600 TB | Samsung |
| B | WD_BLACK SN7100 | PCIe Gen 4x4 | TLC 3D NAND | DRAM-less | 600 TB | SanDisk · TPU |
| B | TEAMGROUP MP44 | PCIe 4.0 x4 | not stated | none | 500 TB | TEAMGROUP |
| C | Crucial P3 Plus | PCIe 4.0 | 176-layer QLC † | none † | not in Micron’s flyer | Micron · Tom’s |
| C · check the revision | Samsung 970 EVO Plus Which one is it? | PCIe Gen 3.0 x4 | V-NAND 3-bit MLC | Samsung DRAM | 600 TB | Samsung, archived |
† marks a cell the maker does not publish. The linked review opened the drive and reported it, and those reviews are credited by name in Sources at the foot of this page. Every other cell comes from the vendor document linked in its own row.
Rated TBW is the maker’s figure for the 1TB model under JEDEC’s client workload, so it is a write budget rather than a failure date. Samsung’s “V-NAND 3-bit MLC” on the 970 EVO Plus row is Samsung’s own wording for three bits per cell, which the rest of the industry calls TLC, and I have left it as Samsung prints it.
How to read it
The tier names a class. It does not promise a speed. A Tier S drive in a PCIe 4.0 slot runs at PCIe 4.0. Three of the seven makers here say so explicitly in the sheet: Samsung, SanDisk, Seagate. SanDisk goes furthest and spells the whole ladder out for the SN8100, backward compatible through Gen4 x4, Gen4 x2, Gen4 x1 and on down to Gen2 x1. The other four print no compatibility statement at all. Check the wiring of your board’s M.2 slot before you buy up a tier.
Endurance does not follow the tiers. This is the part that surprised me while building the table. The Lexar NM790 sits in Tier B because it has no DRAM, and its 1TB model is rated at 1,000 TBW. Both Tier S flagships, the Samsung 9100 PRO and the WD_BLACK SN8100, are rated at 600 TBW at the same capacity. The Seagate FireCuda 540 is rated at 1,000 TBW. If a write budget is what you are shopping for, read that column on its own; the SSD endurance calculator turns a TBW rating and your measured daily writes into years.
Cache architecture is where vendors get quiet. Samsung prints the cache row in every datasheet I opened, including the word HMB for the 990 EVO Plus, which is the rare case of a maker volunteering that its drive has no DRAM at all. Kingston prints “DRAM Cache: Yes”. TEAMGROUP prints “DRAM Cache: NO”. SanDisk is the inconsistent one. It prints “DRAM: Yes” in the SN8100 spec table, calls the SN7100 “this DRAM-less drive” in body copy rather than in a row, and says nothing at all about the SN850X, which is the one of the three where a buyer most needs the answer. That is why five cache cells in the table carry a dagger.
Warranty sorts nothing here. Every maker that states a term states five years. The fine print differs, though. Samsung caps at five years or the TBW limit, whichever comes first, and so do SanDisk and TEAMGROUP. Kingston’s KC3000 sheet instead caps at “5 years or ‘Percentage Used’”, a SMART attribute you read with Kingston’s own utility. Useful to know, useless for ranking.
If a drive you own is behaving strangely rather than slowly, a tier letter will not help. Read its SMART data and its host-write counter first, then come back to this table when you are actually shopping.
Which hardware is it
Here is the problem that made me build this page instead of updating a spreadsheet.
In 2021 Samsung changed the controller inside the 970 EVO Plus without changing the name on the box. TechSpot reported the swap from the Phoenix controller to Elpis, with the part number moving from MZVLB1T0HBLR to MZVL21T0HBLU, and made the point that matters: “The part number isn’t on the package, so you can’t distinguish them that way.” The FPS Review named the silicon on both sides, Phoenix S4LR020 and Elpis S4LV003, and reported the revised units shipping firmware 3B2QEXM7.
The change was not cosmetic. TechSpot’s 200GB copy test had the original drive running at 1.8 GB/s until 40GB, then settling at 1.5 GB/s. The revised drive started faster, at 2.6 GB/s, and then fell to 0.8 GB/s at the 115GB mark, which The FPS Review puts down to the SLC cache being exhausted. Two drives. One name. Opposite behaviour as soon as the write runs long enough to fill the cache.
Two of the eight SSD tier lists I opened do name both controllers. None of the eight gives an owner a way to tell which one is in the drive on their desk. The Italian-language Buonaurio guide names the practice outright, “i produttori cambiano di continuo i componenti di nascosto”, and resolves it by rating only the newest variant it knows about. The Comparator grades the 970 EVO Plus at 250GB and 500GB with no revision split at either. The two that do mention the change bury it inside a single row. The deprecated NewMaxx sheet puts “Samsung Phoenix” in its controller column and “Elpis + 128L flash change” in a notes field; stoRAGE writes “Samsung Phoenix OR Elpis” in one cell. A controller name tells you the drive exists in two versions. It does not tell you which one you bought.
So this page carries the identifier, linked from the row it applies to. The first-party reading below is mine.
What my own drive reports
I ran a read-only inventory on my daily machine on September 18, 2026 at 14:17 Central:
Get-PhysicalDisk | Select-Object FriendlyName,BusType,FirmwareVersion,HealthStatus
It returned Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 1TB, BusType NVMe, FirmwareVersion 4B2QEXM7, HealthStatus Healthy. No install, no elevation, no vendor utility.
Methodology note: that is one drive in one machine, a Ryzen 7 7800X3D desktop, read with the built-in Windows storage cmdlet. It identifies the drive. It measures nothing.
Now the limit of it. Firmware can be updated long after purchase by anyone who runs the vendor tool, so the string on its own does not pin down which controller is sitting underneath it. The FPS Review’s 3B2QEXM7 figure describes what revised units shipped with. It says nothing about what they run today. The identifier that settles it is the part number on the drive’s own label, MZVLB1T0HBLR for Phoenix or MZVL21T0HBLU for Elpis, which means unscrewing the drive to read it. I have not pulled mine.
That is the method, and it costs a screwdriver rather than a benchmark suite:
- Read the firmware string first, because it is free.
Get-PhysicalDiskin PowerShell, or Device Manager under Disk drives, Properties, Details, Hardware Ids. Write it down. - Read the part number off the label. It starts with MZ for Samsung and is the value the news coverage tracked when the swap was found.
- Compare both against the reporting for your model, and treat a model name with two documented hardware versions as two drives that happen to share a box.
Our own 970 EVO Plus review covers how the drive behaves after years in that machine. This page covers which drive it is.
Your SSD is not in the table. Tier it yourself
Fourteen rows is a starting field. The market is far wider. The method takes about ten minutes per drive and uses the same public sources:
- Open the maker’s datasheet rather than the retail listing. Search the model plus “datasheet” or “product brief”. Every maker in the table above publishes one: Samsung, SanDisk, Kingston, Seagate, Solidigm, Lexar, TEAMGROUP, Micron. A retail bullet list is marketing copy.
- Find the interface line and read the lane count. “PCIe 4.0 x4” and “PCIe 4.0 x2” are different drives.
- Find the NAND row. TLC or QLC. If the sheet says only “3D NAND” with no cell count, the maker is not telling you, and that is worth knowing on its own.
- Find the cache row. DRAM, HMB, or absent. If it is absent, look for a review that photographed the board.
- Read the TBW at your capacity. A headline endurance number is almost always the largest model’s.
Four facts, four cells, and the tier falls out of the rules above. If the NAND row and the cache row are nowhere to be found, that is itself the finding. You are being asked to buy a drive whose maker will not say what is inside it.
The questions builders keep asking
Should I replace a working Tier B or Tier C drive?
No. Tiers earn their keep at purchase time, when four drives in a price bracket look identical on the shelf. A DRAM-less drive that has been holding your game library without complaint does not become slower because a table ranks something above it. What deserves attention is a drive being asked to do a job its class is wrong for: a QLC drive under continuous virtual machine writes, or a Gen3 drive as the scratch disk for a video timeline.
Is Gen5 worth the money in 2026?
For a desktop that games and browses, the gap is hard to feel, and Gen5 drives draw more power doing it: Samsung rates the 1TB 9100 PRO at 7.6 W average active read against 5.5 W for the 1TB 990 PRO, and Seagate rates the 1TB FireCuda 540 at 10 W active. The Gen5 rows sit in Tier S because the class ceiling is genuinely higher. That ceiling rarely shows up in a game load. Where it earns the premium is sustained sequential work: multi-stream video, large model loading, virtual machine images under real write pressure.
Why is there no price column?
Because a price on a tier list is wrong within a week, and this one would be wrong faster than most. NAND pricing moved sharply through 2026, which our RAM and SSD price crisis explainer covers with its sources. Dated prices live on the NVMe SSD price index instead, captured daily against named direct retailers. Its September 14, 2026 capture had exactly one drive clear every acceptance rule: a Samsung 990 PRO 2TB at $672.98 from Adorama, or $336.49 per terabyte.
Which drive should I buy for a specific job?
That is a different question from where a drive sits, and it has its own page. The homelab and PC build NVMe guide makes the role picks: boot disk, virtual machine pool, ZFS cache device, secondary game storage. Use this table to check the class of anything it names, or anything you are cross-shopping against it.
What is deliberately not here
- Crucial T500, T705, T710. Micron’s product pages render their spec tables through scripts that a fetch cannot read, and I did not find a published flyer for these three carrying the NAND and cache rows. They go in when a readable Micron document exists.
- WD Blue SN580. Same reason: SanDisk publishes a datasheet PDF for the WD_BLACK line and I did not find the equivalent for this Blue model.
- Anything that is not an internal M.2 NVMe drive. SATA, portable, enterprise U.2: different products with different rules.
- Controller part numbers as a tier input. Most makers do not publish them, several changed silently, and repeating a forum’s attribution as though it were a specification is how the older lists went stale.
- Prices. They live on the price index above, with capture dates attached.
Revision 1.0 — published 2026-09-18, 14 drives. Next scheduled review: December 2026. A drive enters when its maker’s own document has been opened and its interface row, its NAND row and its cache row have been read; a documented hardware revision earns the flag. Corrections are welcome at contact@techfuelhq.com with a source, and they get checked against the same standard the rows were.
For the other maintained tier databases on this site: GPU hierarchy 2026 ranks 43 graphics cards, CPU hierarchy 2026 ranks 28 processors on gaming performance, and the PSU tier list tiers 28 power supplies with the low-load efficiency data that 24/7 boxes need.
Sources
Vendor specification documents, all opened September 18, 2026: Samsung 9100 PRO datasheet rev. 2.0 · Samsung 990 PRO datasheet rev. 2.0 · Samsung 990 EVO Plus datasheet rev. 1.0 · Samsung 970 EVO Plus specification page, archived January 2024 · WD_BLACK SN8100 datasheet · WD_BLACK SN850X datasheet · WD_BLACK SN7100 datasheet · Kingston KC3000 datasheet · Seagate FireCuda 540 datasheet · Solidigm P44 Pro product brief · SK hynix Platinum P41 product page · Lexar NM790 product sheet · TEAMGROUP MP44 spec sheet · Crucial P3 Plus product flyer
Teardowns and reviews cited where a maker publishes no cache or NAND row: TechPowerUp, Solidigm P44 Pro — SK hynix ACNS075 controller, 176-layer 3D TLC, and 1GB of SK hynix LPDDR4 on the 1TB unit it tested, plus its finding that the P44 Pro shares a hardware configuration with the Platinum P41, which is what the P41 cache cell rests on · TechPowerUp, Seagate FireCuda 540 — Phison E26 controller, Micron 232-layer TLC, and a dedicated DRAM cache for the mapping tables, on the 2TB sample it tested · TechPowerUp, WD_BLACK SN7100 — a DRAM-less design on WD’s Polaris 3 controller with Kioxia 218-layer BiCS8 TLC, measured on the 2TB sample, where the host memory buffer is 64MB · Tom’s Hardware, WD_BLACK SN850X — DDR4 cache and 112-layer BiCS5 TLC, listed for every capacity column including the 1TB this table uses · Tom’s Hardware, Crucial P3 Plus — Phison E21T controller and Micron 176-layer QLC
The 970 EVO Plus hardware revision: TechSpot, August 28, 2021 — controller swap, part numbers, and the copy-test figures · The FPS Review, August 28, 2021 — Phoenix S4LR020 and Elpis S4LV003, the 115GB cache figure and the revised firmware string
The eight tier lists surveyed for dates and method: NewMaxx SSD Basic Tier List · the NewMaxx sheet it replaced, marked DEPRECATED 3/24/2026 · Zach’s Tech Turf SSD list · ssd-tester.com top SSD ranking · stoRAGE consumer SSD tier list · Level1Techs SSD tier list thread · The Comparator SSD tier list · Riccardo Buonaurio’s guida SSD · Tom’s Hardware SSD benchmarks hierarchy
Frequently asked questions
Which SSD tier list is still maintained in 2026?
How do I tell which version of my Samsung 970 EVO Plus I have?
Does a DRAM cache matter, and how do I know if a drive has one?
Does my motherboard slot’s PCIe generation change which tier I should buy?
Which SSD lasts longest for a homelab running several VMs?
Sources and corrections
- Last updated
- Methodology
- See our methodology for research and review standards.
- Update log
- 2026-09-18 — Page updated.
- Corrections
- Spotted an error or a stale number? Email contact@techfuelhq.com. Confirmed corrections are added to the update log above.