Quick answer

An N150 mini PC suits a job that is small and constant, not one that is bursty and large. Intel rates the chip at 6 W with a 16 GB ceiling. Of eight vendor pages I opened, five state a power figure, and between them they give six different numbers.

Contents

By LK Wood IV · Published 2026-09-18 · St. Louis County, MO

Some retailer links below are affiliate links; if you buy through them TechFuel HQ may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Commissions never influence what gets recommended — see our disclosure.

Intel’s ARK page for the N150 is short and unambiguous. Four cores, four threads, 3.6 GHz turbo, 6 W processor base power, 16 GB of memory maximum across one channel, 24 graphics execution units at 1 GHz, nine PCIe Gen 3 lanes, Quick Sync.

Then you go shopping. On 2026-09-18 I opened eight N150 manufacturer pages, and the boxes built on that chip tell you something else entirely: five of them state a power figure, and between those five the same part is rated at 6 W, 7 W, 8 W, 10 W, 12 W and 25 W. Four state a memory ceiling above the 16 GB Intel allows. One of them by three times.

So “is an N150 enough” is the wrong first question. The chip is a known quantity. The box is not, and the box is what you are buying.

What the chip decides, and what it does not

Three of the N150’s numbers are fixed no matter whose case it arrives in, and each one closes off a class of work.

One memory channel, 16 GB. This is the real ceiling. Four small cores are rarely what stops an N150; a database plus a Jellyfin library scan plus three containers all wanting memory at the same time is. And because it is single-channel, the bandwidth those four cores share does not improve when you spend more.

Nine PCIe Gen 3 lanes. Every extra network port, M.2 slot and SATA connector on an N150 board is carved out of those nine. It is one reason a four-port N150 firewall and a six-slot N150 NAS arrive as different products rather than one flexible chassis. Read a spec sheet as a budget, not a list.

Quick Sync, 24 EUs. The video engine is present, which is what makes these boxes credible for camera work at all. For what that buys in a Frigate setup specifically, the Home Assistant mini PC guide covers the decode-and-detect path on the same silicon.

N150 against N100 and N355

N100N150Core 3 N355
Code nameAlder Lake-NTwin LakeTwin Lake
LaunchedQ1'23Q1'25Q1'25
Cores / threads4 / 44 / 48 / 8
Max turbo3.40 GHz3.6 GHz3.9 GHz
Processor base power6 W6 W15 W
Max memory16 GB16 GB16 GB
Memory channels111
Graphics EUs / max dynamic clock24 at 750 MHz24 at 1 GHz32 at 1.35 GHz
PCIe lanes9 (Gen 3)9 (Gen 3)9 (Gen 3)

All three rows come from Intel ARK, read on 2026-09-18 (N100, N150, N355).

Read the middle two columns and the N150-versus-N100 argument evaporates. Two values move: turbo, by 200 MHz, and the graphics clock, by 250 MHz. Everything that constrains a homelab workload stays exactly where it was, which means the choice between the two chips is a question about price and build quality wearing a question about silicon. I would not pay a premium for the newer name. I would not avoid it either.

The N355 column is the interesting one, because it shows what a step up does and does not fix. You get twice the cores. You get the same 16 GB, on the same single channel, through the same nine lanes. Cores were probably not your problem.

The three things that separate N150 boxes

Since the chip is constant, the spec sheet is the product. Here is what I found on the eight pages, and what each column is worth.

Box (vendor page, opened 2026-09-18)Power as statedMemory as statedEthernet as statedVendor price
CWWK S7 Pronot stated1 × SO-DIMM DDR5 4800, “up to 48GB”2 × Intel X550-T2 10GbE, 2 × Intel i226-V 2.5GbE$348.36 barebone
Beelink ME mininot stated“16GB LPDDR5-4800 memory (soldered)”Dual 2.5G, Intel I226-V$329.00 is the N95 config; the N150 configs are not separately priced
GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus“TDP 6W”1 × SO-DIMM DDR4-3200, “Supports up to 32GB”1 × 2.5G, Intel i226-V$499.99
MINIX Z150-0dB“12W (Typical), 25W (Max)”1 × DDR4 SO-DIMM, “Up to 32GB Max”1 × RJ-45 2.5G, chip not named$345.00
ZimaBoard 2“10W”8 GB or 16 GB LPDDR5-4800, no slot2 × 2.5GbE, chip not named$339.00
MeLE Cyber X1“8W (LPDDR5) / 7W (DDR4)”LPDDR5 or DDR4, single slot, “32GB” max1 × RJ-45 Gigabit, Realtek RTL8111H$459.99 for 8 GB / 128 GB
Beelink EQ14“TDP(MSP): 25W”SO-DIMM DDR4, “Max 16GB”Dual 1GbE Realtek RTL8111H, or dual 2.5G Intel I226-V$385.00 (pre-order)
MINIX NUC150not stated16GB DDR5-4800, no slot stated1 × RJ-45 2.5G, “8125GB(8111K)”$570.00

Memory: read the word, not the number

Read the memory line. Five of the eight give you a socket, and three solder the memory down, of which two say so only by listing LPDDR5 against a fixed capacity rather than by using the word “soldered” anywhere a shopper would see it. If the line says SO-DIMM or slot, you can change it later. If it says LPDDR5 and a number, the machine you buy is the machine you keep, and an 8 GB or 16 GB box is a permanent decision dressed up as a starting point.

The 32 GB claims deserve their own warning. Intel rates the part at 16 GB. GMKtec, MINIX and MeLE each print 32 GB on their own pages, and CWWK prints 48 GB. Four out of eight is no rounding error. What you are reading is still a board vendor’s claim standing against the chip vendor’s published specification, though, and Intel is not the party that ships you the machine or takes it back when the 32 GB module fails to post. Buy the memory from a seller who accepts returns.

Ethernet: the chip name is the spec

Six of the eight name a controller. That matters more here than it would on a desktop, because these boxes get pointed at firewalls and hypervisors. On that duty I want Intel silicon rather than Realtek, for driver support in mainline Linux, and I treat an unnamed controller as a Realtek until the vendor says otherwise. Intel i226-V shows up on four of the eight. That is the part I would hold out for. Two machines give you gigabit rather than 2.5: the MeLE Cyber X1 with a Realtek RTL8111H, and the Beelink EQ14’s base configuration, whose 2.5G option is the pre-order one.

That last detail is worth holding onto, because the class-level shorthand for these boxes — that an N150 comes with a real 2.5GbE port — is not reliably true of the machine that ships today.

Power: the vendor numbers are not measurements

This is the column I trust least, and the reason is sitting in the table. Six different figures for one chip, from five pages, spanning 6 W to 25 W. They are not describing the same thing. Intel’s 6 W is a processor base power, Beelink’s “TDP(MSP): 25W” is a package limit the board sets, MINIX splits the difference by publishing a typical figure and a maximum, and MeLE varies its own number depending on which memory type you order. Same chip. Four different questions being answered.

For a number you can put in a spreadsheet, use somebody’s meter. ServeTheHome’s John Lee measured a CWWK N150 pocket NAS on 2025-09-21 at around 2.2 W idle for the SoC alone, 8.6 W on burst and around 6.1 W sustained. The same machine at the wall, with one SSD and without the USB fan, drew 10-11 W at idle, 22-23 W in burst and 17-18 W sustained. The gap between 6 W on a spec sheet and 10-11 W at an outlet is the platform, and it is the part you pay for every hour.

Put your own figure into the homelab power-cost calculator rather than a manufacturer’s, and see the 24/7 idle-power breakdown for what the difference is worth over a year.

Which N150 box, by the job

I have not benched these machines. What follows is a reading of eight spec sheets against one Intel specification, which is enough to narrow a shortlist and nowhere near enough to settle it. These are starting points.

A firewall or router — CWWK S7 Pro. It is the only box in the survey with 10-gigabit copper: two Intel X550-T2 10GbE ports alongside two i226-V 2.5GbE ports, all four named on the page rather than left as a bare speed rating. It ships barebone at $348.36 and takes DDR5 in a single SO-DIMM slot. Four Intel ports carved out of nine PCIe lanes is the whole argument for this chassis. The OPNsense mini PC setup guide covers the install.

A small NAS — Beelink ME mini or ZimaBoard 2. These solve the same problem differently. The ME mini puts six M.2 slots and a built-in power supply in a small tower, with Intel I226-V networking, and solders the memory at 16 GB; its N150 configurations ship with a 1TB SSD and carry no separately listed price, so the $329.00 on the page is the cheaper N95 machine. The ZimaBoard 2 at $339.00 gives you two SATA 3.0 ports with power and a PCIe 3.0 slot instead, which is what you want if the storage is spinning rust rather than flash. Neither lets you add memory later. For how either fits a wider build, see the budget NAS builds guide.

A general Docker or Proxmox box — GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus or MINIX Z150-0dB. Both give you a DDR4 SO-DIMM slot and both claim 32 GB, which is the only route to headroom on this platform. The MINIX is fanless and states 12 W typical, and at $345.00 it is the cheaper of the two; the GMKtec states 6 W and names its i226-V, and at $499.99 for 16 GB and 512 GB it is asking a lot for an N150, on top of showing as sold out when I looked. Proxmox on a mini PC is the install path from here.

A silent appliance — MeLE Cyber X1. Fanless, 7-8 W by its own page, a DDR4 slot, and a gigabit Realtek NIC rather than 2.5. At $459.99 it is priced against machines that would outrun it in every dimension except noise, which makes the decision simple: buy it for the silence or skip it.

Home Assistant specifically is a different decision with a different answer, and it is already answered here — an N100 and an N150 are interchangeable for that job.

Whether to buy an N150 at all is the bigger question, and it sits one level up. If you are choosing between this class, a used office micro and a Minisforum MS-01, start with the homelab mini PC comparison and come back here once the class is settled.

Where to buy

Which of these machines a retailer stocks itself, rather than listing on behalf of the manufacturer, moves week to week. Check the seller line as well as the price, and check the processor line against ARK before you pay.

Search NeweggLink checked 2026-09-18Search AmazonLink checked 2026-09-18

So, is it enough?

For a job that is small and constant, yes. Comfortably. Pi-hole, a handful of containers, a light automation stack, a firewall pushing a residential connection — four cores at 6 W doing steady work is exactly what this part was designed for, and the wall figure that comes with it is genuinely cheap to run.

For a job that is bursty and large, no. The reason is memory rather than cores. You will hit 16 GB on one channel long before you run out of clock, and no N150 box sells you a way past it that Intel endorses. If that is the shape of your workload, the money belongs in a platform with two memory channels, not in a faster four-core chip.

And when you have picked a job and a box, pick it from the vendor page rather than from a retail listing. Six power figures, four memory ceilings above spec and four different network controllers on one product line is not a market you can shop by chip name.

Sources

Chip specifications, read on 2026-09-18:

Independent power measurement:

Manufacturer product pages, all opened 2026-09-18, which are the source of every row in the survey table:

Frequently asked questions

Is the N150 better than the N100?
Barely, and not in a way you will feel. Intel’s own ARK pages give both chips four cores, four threads, 6 W of processor base power, a 16 GB memory ceiling on a single channel, 24 execution units and Quick Sync. Two numbers differ: max turbo goes from 3.40 GHz on the N100 to 3.6 GHz on the N150, and the integrated graphics clock goes from 750 MHz to 1 GHz. The N150 is a Twin Lake refresh of an Alder Lake-N part, not a new tier. Buy whichever box is better built at the price you are paying, and treat the chip name as a tie-breaker.
Is the RAM upgradeable on an N150 mini PC?
It depends entirely on the box, and the product page tells you if you read the memory line rather than the capacity. Of the eight N150 machines I opened on 2026-09-18, five state a SO-DIMM slot you can reach: the Beelink EQ14, GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus, MINIX Z150-0dB, MeLE Cyber X1 and CWWK S7 Pro. Three ship memory you cannot change: the Beelink ME mini describes ‘16GB LPDDR5-4800 memory (soldered)’, the ZimaBoard 2 lists 8 GB or 16 GB of LPDDR5 with no slot, and the MINIX NUC150 lists 16 GB of DDR5 and mentions no slot at all. Look for the words SO-DIMM or slot. LPDDR5 with a fixed capacity is soldered.
Can an N150 use 32 GB of RAM?
Intel says 16 GB is the maximum, and four of the eight vendor pages I opened say otherwise. The GMKtec NucBox G3 Plus, MINIX Z150-0dB and MeLE Cyber X1 all state 32 GB, and the CWWK S7 Pro states ‘up to 48GB’. That is a disagreement between the chip vendor and the board vendor, not a guarantee to you. If more than 16 GB is the reason you are buying, buy from the vendor that states the higher number on its own page, buy the memory from a seller who takes returns, and plan for 16 GB being what you keep. If 32 GB is a requirement rather than a hope, the N150 is the wrong chip and you want a platform Intel rates for it.
Can an N150 mini PC run Proxmox or OPNsense?
Yes for both, with one caveat each. Proxmox needs VT-x, and VT-d only if you want PCIe passthrough; Intel ARK lists both as supported on the N150. Four small cores will carry a handful of LXC containers and a light VM without complaint; the ceiling you hit first is the 16 GB of single-channel memory, not the CPU. For OPNsense or pfSense the CPU is almost never the limit either, but the network interfaces are, so the box you pick has to have more than one and they should be Intel. The N150’s nine PCIe Gen 3 lanes are what every extra NIC, M.2 slot and SATA port on these boards is being carved out of, which is why a four-port N150 firewall and a six-slot N150 NAS tend to arrive as different products rather than as one flexible chassis.
How much power does an N150 mini PC actually draw?
Intel’s processor base power is 6 W, and that figure describes the chip, not the machine on your shelf. ServeTheHome measured a CWWK N150 pocket NAS at around 2.2 W idle for the SoC alone, jumping to 8.6 W on burst and settling to around 6.1 W sustained, while the same machine at the wall with one SSD and without the USB fan drew 10-11 W idle, 22-23 W in burst and 17-18 W sustained. That wall figure is the one that shows up on your bill. Vendor pages are not a reliable substitute: the five that state a number give 6 W, 7 W, 8 W, 10 W, 12 W and 25 W for the same part.
How do I check that a listing is really an N150?
Open the vendor’s own product page, read the processor line, and check that exact SKU name against Intel ARK. Do not try to identify the chip from core count and clock speed, because that test does not work here: the N97 and the N200 are also four-core parts that turbo to 3.60 and 3.70 GHz, so a spec block reading 4 cores at 3.6 GHz does not separate an N150 from its neighbours. Only the SKU name does. If a listing names no specific SKU, or its specification block disagrees with its own title, treat the chip as unknown and buy something else.
When is a Core 3 N355 worth it over an N150?
When you need cores rather than efficiency. Intel’s ARK page for the Core 3 N355 gives it eight cores and eight threads at up to 3.9 GHz, 32 execution units at 1.35 GHz, and a 15 W processor base power with a 9 W minimum assured power. Against the N150 that is double the cores and roughly two and a half times the rated power for the same 16 GB ceiling on the same single memory channel and the same nine PCIe lanes. So the N355 buys you parallel work and nothing else: more containers at once, more simultaneous camera streams. It does not raise your memory ceiling, and that is the wall most people actually hit.

Sources and corrections

Sources checked
Methodology
See our methodology for research and review standards.
Update log
  • 2026-09-18 — Source-check date recorded.
Corrections
Spotted an error or a stale number? Email contact@techfuelhq.com. Confirmed corrections are added to the update log above.

About the author

Written by Lowell K. Wood IV, who builds and runs TechFuelHQ from St. Louis, Missouri.