Hardware reviews

Hardware reviews combining owner experience and first-party measurements where available with manufacturer documents and named independent tests. Each card states the exact model scope and the material limit before you open it.

About this section

For GPU comparisons with first-party bench data, see GPU Reviews. For networking hardware, see Networking.

How to use these reviews

Start with the workload and platform you already have: a motherboard review matters only if its socket, expansion layout and firmware fit the planned build, while a power-supply review matters only after the GPU load and connector requirements are clear along with the noise target. Check compatibility first. Then separate performance from the longer-term ownership questions that appear after the return window closes.

The page title identifies the product being evaluated. The evidence block identifies the model or variants covered and the limit that matters before transferring a result to a different platform or workload. Measured results are labeled in the article. Use the comparison articles when the decision is between two current products; use the individual reviews when you need details about one component’s behavior in a working system.

How to judge a PC review website

Check the evidence before the verdict.

Start with evidence you can inspect. A useful hardware review names the exact sample and test system, publishes enough method to repeat the comparison, keeps settings consistent, and separates measured results from product specifications. Check whether charts expose the workload and units, whether firmware or driver versions are dated, and whether corrections remain visible. Then read the site’s review-scope methodology and commercial disclosure before accepting its verdict.

A “PC part rater” that reduces every component to one score hides the reader’s actual task. Pick the task first. Use the PC Builder to check the socket and memory path. It also covers power and clearance. Use the CPU and GPU benchmark lookup to identify the parts and reach the site’s measured comparison pages. Use GPU Reviews when the decision depends on a named gaming workload. None of those tools is a universal product rating, and this index does not assign one.

What review evidence means here

Some reviews here cover parts used in working builds long enough to expose ownership questions after the return window. Others evaluate an exact product through manufacturer documents and named independent tests. I use the card label to keep those evidence routes separate.

Owner experience remains firsthand even when an exact revision or capacity was not recorded. External measurements and manufacturer ratings retain the source and configuration limits that produced them.

Open the article for the workload and method, then check the citations and any dated first-party dataset behind the verdict.

ASUS ROG Strix B650-A Gaming WiFi Review: AM5 for the Homelab

ASUS ROG Strix B650-A Gaming WiFi review from my 7800X3D build: DDR5 tuning, power delivery, WiFi 6E, PCIe slots, and the board's tradeoffs.

Evidence
Long-term owner use + ASUS documentation
Model
ASUS ROG Strix B650-A Gaming WiFi with Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Limit
Review does not specify a unique PCB revision. BIOS references are dated; B650E Max is a different board.
Article updated
LK Wood IV Rated 4.2 / 5

EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 GT Review: Gold PSU After the GPU Exit

EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 GT long-term review: 80 Plus Gold, fully modular, Seasonic platform, from a brand that left GPUs. Buying new or used and warranty in 2026.

Evidence
First-hand build use + sourced specifications
Model
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 GT in 7800X3D/RTX 5080 build
Limit
Full PSU part suffix/revision is not specified. Efficiency proxy and calculated costs are not a direct EVGA bench result.
Article updated
LK Wood IV Rated 4.3 / 5

Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB Review (2026): A PCIe 3.0 Keeper

Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe review from daily use in a Ryzen 7 7800X3D build: sequential speed, game load times, heat under write, and Gen4 advice for 2026.

Evidence
Owner measurements and use + Samsung specifications
Model
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB in the daily machine
Limit
Phoenix versus Elpis controller/revision is unspecified. 500GB/2TB table values are manufacturer ratings, separate from the owner's 1TB evidence.
Article updated
LK Wood IV Rated 4.2 / 5

AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D Review (2026): Keep It or Upgrade?

AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D long-term review from daily use since 2023, with specs, TDP and chipset, plus the 9800X3D and other rivals compared: keep it or upgrade?

Evidence
Long-term owner use + independent comparisons
Model
AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D, daily-driver CPU since 2023
Limit
Sample stepping is unspecified. Cross-generation deltas are external benchmark suites, not new first-party comparisons.
Article updated
LK Wood IV Rated 4.6 / 5

WD_BLACK SN850X Review: Choose Capacity Before Game Mode

WD_BLACK SN850X review with 2TB test evidence, capacity and heatsink differences, PS5 fit, Game Mode limits, and buying advice for an SSD upgrade.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
Sourced bare 2TB WDS200T2X0E
Limit
Owned capacity/host configuration is unspecified. No new TechFuelHQ benchmark claimed; capacities have different ratings.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

WD Red Pro Review: When a Heavier NAS Drive Makes Sense

WD Red Pro review covering 16TB and 24TB variants, workload ratings, published test results, warranty, and the cases where Red Plus is enough.

Evidence
Family ownership + independent tests
Model
WD161KFGX 16TB; WD240KFGX/WD241KFGX 24TB; test: WD240KFGX
Limit
Owned capacity is unspecified. WD161KFGX feature-document conflict remains unresolved; WD240KFGX results do not cover WD241KFGX.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

WD Red Plus Review: The Right Model for a Home NAS

WD Red Plus review covering exact 8TB and 12TB models, noise specifications, workload limits, warranty, and when a home NAS needs Red Pro instead.

Evidence
Family ownership + independent tests
Model
WD80EFPX/WD80EFZZ 8TB and WD120EFBX/WD120EFGX 12TB; test: WD40EFPX 4TB
Limit
Owned capacity is unspecified. TechRadar's 4TB measured results do not become 8TB/12TB results.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Thermalright Phantom Spirit 120 SE Review: Check the Fit

Phantom Spirit 120 SE review with exact-model independent testing, RAM and case clearance, socket support, and comparisons with the PA120 SE and EVO.

Evidence
Manufacturer documents + independent tests
Model
Non-RGB Phantom Spirit 120 SE
Limit
EVO is different; tested mounting is LGA1700. No exact-variant ownership or new TechFuelHQ benchmark claimed.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE Review: Worth It?

A sourced Peerless Assassin 120 SE review covering independent tests, V2 fan differences, RAM clearance, case fit, and the Phantom Spirit alternative.

Evidence
Manufacturer documents + independent tests
Model
Peerless Assassin 120 SE; SE V2 separately identified
Limit
Exact retailer fan/kit revision remains to be matched. No new TechFuelHQ thermal/noise/longevity test.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Seagate IronWolf Review: Choose the Right 8TB Model

Seagate IronWolf review covering the two 8TB models, power use, NAS workload limits, warranty, and when the standard drive makes more sense than Pro.

Evidence
Family ownership + manufacturer specifications
Model
IronWolf 8TB ST8000VN004 and ST8000VN002
Limit
Owned capacity/model is unspecified. Table figures and energy example are specifications/calculations, not measured NAS results.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Seagate IronWolf Pro Review: The 22TB NAS Decision

IronWolf Pro 22TB review: ST22000NT001 specifications, independent noise and transfer tests, workload limits, Rescue coverage, and buying advice.

Evidence
Family ownership + independent tests
Model
IronWolf Pro 22TB SATA ST22000NT001
Limit
Owned capacity is unspecified. Hardwareluxx's exact-model results do not establish another NAS's performance.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Seagate Exos X20 Review: 20TB SATA for a Home Server

Exos X20 20TB review covering ST20000NM007D, original performance tests, SATA versus SAS, sector formats, warranty checks, and home-server suitability.

Evidence
Family ownership + independent tests
Model
Exos X20 20TB standard SATA ST20000NM007D
Limit
Owned Exos generation/capacity is unspecified. SAS/SED variants and multi-drive results are distinct.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Sapphire Pulse RX 9070 XT Review: Fit and Fan Tradeoffs

A sourced review of Sapphire's Pulse RX 9070 XT: case fit, power connectors, conflicting thermal results, and when a more expensive card makes sense.

Evidence
Manufacturer documents + independent tests
Model
Sapphire Pulse RX 9070 XT 16GB, 11348-03-20G
Limit
No new TechFuelHQ lab measurements or exact-model ownership claim. Reviewed BIOS/fan-control revision is unspecified.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Samsung 990 PRO Review: A Worthwhile SSD Upgrade?

Samsung 990 PRO review covering the 2TB drive, capacity differences, current firmware, sustained writes, cooling, and when to keep an older SSD.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
Sourced bare 2TB MZ-V9P2T0B/AM
Limit
Owned capacity/configuration is unspecified. No new TechFuelHQ 2TB benchmark is claimed.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Samsung 980 PRO Review: Keep It, Update It, Buy Carefully

Samsung 980 PRO review focused on the 2TB model, firmware checks, capacity differences, cooling, and whether an older premium SSD is still a sensible buy.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
Sourced bare 2TB MZ-V8P2T0B/AM
Limit
Owned capacity/workload/firmware are unspecified. The 2TB benchmark and firmware investigation are external.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Noctua NH-D15 G2 Review: Worth the Premium?

NH-D15 G2 review covering standard, HBC and LBC versions, independent thermal tests, RAM clearance, early fin-rattle history, and buying alternatives.

Evidence
Manufacturer documents + independent tests
Model
Standard NH-D15 G2; HBC/LBC results separately identified
Limit
No exact-model ownership claimed. HBC 14900KF results cannot become standard G2/AM5 measurements.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD Review: Check the Revision

CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD review covering 1000W versus older 900W units, runtime, NUT shutdown, battery matching, and who should buy it.

Evidence
Owner experience + manufacturer ratings
Model
CP1500PFCLCD; sourced US 120V 1000W/12-outlet version
Limit
Owned revision is not recorded. Runtime is manufacturer-rated; historical 900W/10-outlet NUT/test evidence stays historical.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Beelink Mini S13 Review: Check the Version First

Beelink Mini S13 review of the N150 DDR4 model: independent performance tests, SSD and Ethernet revisions, BIOS compatibility, and who should buy it.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
Mini S13 N150, original 16GB DDR4/Gigabit reference
Limit
Owned board/network revision is unspecified. MINIS and later dual-2.5GbE firmware branches must stay distinct.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Beelink Mini S12 Pro Review: A Small Server Worth Keeping

Beelink Mini S12 Pro review for Home Assistant and light homelabs: N100 limits, storage revisions, measured third-party results, and buying advice.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
Mini S12 Pro N100, original 16GB DDR4/Gigabit reference
Limit
Owned storage/board revision is unspecified. Original SATA bay and later dual-M.2 layouts differ.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Beelink EQ14 Review: Check the LAN Version First

Beelink's EQ14 combines an N150 with an internal power supply. We examine gigabit versus 2.5GbE versions, SATA storage, quiet operation and the BIOS update.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
EQ14 N150; gigabit and 2.5GbE versions separated
Limit
Owned network revision is unspecified. January 2025 gigabit/750MHz sample results are not 2.5GbE/current-firmware tests.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Beelink EQ12 Review: Buy It for the Two Network Ports

The Beelink EQ12 N100 makes sense as a small networked server. Our review weighs its dual 2.5GbE, DDR5, storage limits, power use and alternatives.

Evidence
Owner experience + independent tests
Model
EQ12 N100, reference 16GB DDR5; dual 2.5GbE
Limit
Owned unit's exact RAM/SSD/revision is unspecified. N305 EQ12 Pro is a separate sourced example.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

Arctic Liquid Freezer III 360 Review: Fit Comes First

Liquid Freezer III 360 review covering independent tests, its thick radiator, Intel contact frame, pump controls, motherboard fit, and air-cooling alternatives.

Evidence
Manufacturer documents + independent tests
Model
Original Liquid Freezer III 360 Black, ACFRE00136A
Limit
Original 360 test evidence does not transfer to Pro, 420, 280 or 240 variants.
Article updated
LK Wood IV

APC BR1500MS2 Review: Plan the Shutdown First

APC BR1500MS2 review: 900W capacity, battery-backed outlets, PowerChute and Linux support, APCRBC163 replacement, and sensible alternatives.

Evidence
Manufacturer documents + one owner report
Model
APC BR1500MS2, US 120V
Limit
No TechFuelHQ exact-model ownership or runtime/noise measurements claimed.
Article updated
LK Wood IV